101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701 OFFICE: (775) 684-5670 FAX NO.: (775) 684-5683



555 EAST WASHINGTON AVENUE, SUITE 5100 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89101 OFFICE: (702) 486-2500 FAX NO.: (702) 486-2505

Office of the Governor

May 31, 2023

The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro
Majority Leader of the Nevada State Senate
Nevada Legislature
401 South Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 20 of the 82nd Legislative Session

Dear Leader Cannizzaro:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 20 ("SB 20"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to counties; revising provisions relating to the process for filling a vacancy in the office of county commissioner; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

SB 20 is a general overreach intended to upset the established balance between Nevada's county commissions and the Executive Branch's appointment authority. SB 20 is presumably intended to provide a county commission with the power to effectively select its own representative to complete the term of a departing member. SB 20 ignores decades of well-established law requiring the Governor—as the primary appointing authority empowered by the Constitution—to select and appoint a suitable candidate from the same political party as the outgoing member.

Current law, as written, provides sufficient checks and balances to deter malfeasance from the Executive Branch during the process of filling vacancies on county commissions.

In short, SB 20 does little more than encroach on the discretion and authority of the Executive Branch. As such, I cannot support it.

	1 ((1) 1) 1 (1)	1 1 9 91 1		
For these reasons.	I veto this bill a	and refurn it without	t my signature or	annroval

///

///

///

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

The Honorable Stavros S. Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure)

Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Susan Furlong, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Brenda Erdoes, Esq., Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)